Dr. Subrata Sinha

Dr. Subrata Sinha

Dr. Subrata Sinha is Professor, and Head of – the Department of Biochemistry at AIIMS.


Ph.D.,1989 Council of National Academic Awards, UK at MRC Toxicology Unit, Carshalton, UK
MD (Biochemistry), 1983 All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, MBBS, 1980, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi  Higher Secondary, Central Board of Secondary Education, New Delhi.


Department of Biochemistry, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi Professor and Head, resumed charge after deputation Since 29 Dec 2017. National Brain Research Centre(Autonomous institution of the Dept of Biotechnology) Manesar, Haryana Director,  on deputation from AIIMS 28 June 2010 to 28 Dec 2017 Additional charge Regional Centre of Biotechnology (another DBT institute), Executive Director, Nov 2015- Oct 2016,  Department of Biochemistry All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, Professor, and Head.  December 1998 till 28th July 2010 (Head of Dept. since 2003) Additional Professor, July 1996 to November 1998, Associate Professor July 1992 to July 1996, Associate Professor, May 1988 to July 1992. MRC Toxicology Unit, Carshalton, England [currently relocated to Leicester University(on leave from the Indian Council of Medical Research) Smith and Nephew Fellow and Non-Clinical-Scientist-1A Also registered for PhDIndia Council of Medical Research, Research Officer, January 1984 to till May 1988.Talent Search Scheme (posted at the National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi). on leave from May 1984 to December 1986. All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, Junior Resident (Biochemistry)(Enrolled for M.D.), January 1980 to December 1983.

Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy, 2006 (Sectional Committee for Medical Sciences 2008 -11, Convener, Health Sciences 2015 -18 ), Vice President 2020-210)
Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, 2003 (member Sectional Committee for Medicine 2013, Convener of Committee 2015 -18)
Indian Academy of Neurosciences 2011 (Dean of the Academy 2012-14, President, 2015-17)
Fellow of the National Academy of Medical Sciences, 2007
Fellow of National Academy of Sciences, 2005
Member, Guha Research Conference, 2008

Previous post Apala Mishra
Next post Dr. Vinay Kumar Bahl