Sanjeev Kumar

Sanjeev Kumar

Sanjeev Kumar, an IAS officer of 1993 batch, Maharashtra Cadre has assumed charge of Chairman, Airports Authority of India on 07.04.2021.


Sanjeev was born from Bulandsehar and was raised there. Further details about his personal background are currently unavailable, but will be provided soon.”


Sanjeev holds a bachelor’s degree in Electronics & Communication Engineering from the University of Roorkee (now IIT Roorkee) and a master’s degree in Communication Engineering from IIT, Kanpur.
He also holds a master’s degree in Financial Management from Jamnalal Bajaj Institute of Management Studies, Mumbai University.


Sanjeev possesses wide experience in the infrastructure and Finance sectors in the Government of Maharashtra and the Government of India. Prior to joining AAI, he was working as State Commissioner -GST, Government of Maharashtra. He was the CMD of the largest electricity distributor company of India, Maharashtra State Electricity Distribution Company Ltd (MSEDCL) for more than four years. He implemented a large number of public-friendly measures in MSEDCL while improving operational and financial efficiency resulting in continuous profits for four years.

Sanjeev Kumar has spent more than five years in State Goods Taxation Department in various capacities at the crucial time of the introduction of Value Added Tax (VAT) in 2005.
Shri Kumar has served in various ministries and departments of the Government of Maharashtra viz. Water Supply & Sanitation Department, Energy and Industries Department. He has worked as Joint CEO of Maharashtra Industrial Development Corporation (MIDC) and has also been MD of Maharashtra Agro Industries Development Corporation.

During his tenure with the Government of India, he worked as Joint Secretary & Mission director for the “Housing for All” project under the Ministry of Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation. He designed and launched Prime Minister Aawas Yojna (PMAY) in this capacity. He worked as Director in the Ministry of Power, in Incharge of Rajiv Gandhi Gramin Vidyutikaran Yojna (RGGVY) & Restructured Accelerated Power Development & Reform Program (RAPDRP).

Previous post Lt Gen Gurbirpal Singh
Next post Ishani Das